Home

The Restoration

 The Museum | Restoration | Poul la Cour | Foundation | Friends | 
Sponsors
| Archive | Links | The Shop | Contact | Home
   

The wind turbine buildings as they looked when the Foundation took over in 2000.

The wind turbine buildings as they looked when the
Foundation took over in 2000.
  
      The unique buildings drawn by P.V. Jensen-Klint in 1897, were almost untouched in 2000 when they were bought by the Poul la Cour Foundation. The test wind turbine on top of the main building burnt down in 1929 but was immediately replaced by a Lykkegaard wind turbine. This wind turbine produced electricity until 1958 when alternate current replaced direct current. In 1968, the wind turbine was disassembled and discarded.
     In spite of their age and lack of maintenance over the years, the sturdy buildings were still in a reasonable state when the Foundation took over in 2000. A lot of work was put into their restoration and they now have attained their original appearance.
     The first phase was restoring the roofs and exterior walls ­ then followed the interior restoration. Whenever possible materials like the original were used in order to achieve the original appearance.
     The plan is to reinstall a wind turbine on top of the main building. It still remains to be decided whether it should be a copy of the original turbine or the second turbine. Whichever turbine is chosen it will never produce electricity as the buildings are situated in the middle of the town of Askov and it will not be possible to achieve permission to run the turbine.
     The restoration work was performed by the architect Steffen M. Søndergaard who specialises in restoring old buildings.
 

Watercolour painting from 1897.

Watercolour painting from 1897 by the architect P.V. Jensen-Klint.
    
 Top